Directorate of Information & Communications Technology (DICT)

It is my pleasure to welcome you to the Directorate of Information and Communication Technology (DICT)  website which serves as an online information resource environment for the  Directorate.   It is therefore, our desire that DICT website shall continue to serve as a platform to disseminate information on its various activities.
Our commitment to our mission statement shall be realised through the following:

  • Providing a wider access to education generally through the use of information and Communications Technology by deploying a Wide Area Network (WAN) to NOUN Students at their respective study centres;
  • Maintaining Local Area Network and Internet Facilities in all the Local Governments in Nigeria to enhance students’ direct access to the support services provided by NOUN;
  • Ensure the running of  Messaging & Mail services at all time;
  • Development of appropriate applications for the management of various NOUN operations;
  • Maintenance of a Central Database System for Students’ registration & Evaluation, Human Resources and Finance System of the University;
  • Providing Network Support Services to the various units of the university.

Dr. Onwodi Gregory

Dr. Onwodi Gregory
Director, DICT 


About Us

The Directorate of Information and Communications Technology (DICT) is structured along specific functional roles as assigned by the University.
To this end, the DICT engage skill sets in various fields such as Computer Science, Information Technology, Telecommunications, Engineering and Knowledge Management to adequately provide the desired platforms and support in both software and hardware infrastructure, network connectivity that will enhance electronic and computer-mediated learning environment of the University.  Thus, DICT  is responsible for all computing, multimedia learning materials development, website development and management, specific database administration, specific system development, networking,  telecommunication services and other associated components required to aid open and distance teaching and learning.
Broadly DICT is segmented into the following units:

  1. Networking and Telecommunication Unit
  2. Website and Application Development Unit
  3. Hardware Unit, ID_Card and CD Production Unit
  4. End_User Support and Training Unit.

Services and Activities

Listed below are some of the core functions of DICT:

  •  Network design, installation and deployment
  •  Provision of technical support for telecommunication facilities
  •  Provision of routine maintenance for end-users in the University community
  •  Certification of hardware acquired by the University to ensure adherence to specifications and standards by vendors
  •  Production and Issuance ID_card to Staff
  •  Production and distribution of course materials on CD to Study Centres
  •  Provision of technical support to study centres during University examinations
  •  Provision of Web based application for University e-exams
  •  Development and Maintenance of the University Website
  •  Provision of technical support to faculties on ICT related issues
  •  Technical training to end-user on various applications


Broadly DICT is segmented into the following units in the headquarters: Networking and Telecommunication Unit, Website and Application Development Unit, Hardware Unit, ID_Card and CD Production Unit, and End_User Support and Training Unit.  The blue print of the University stipulates that there must be at least one ICT staff in a study centre.  The staff list herein are those stationed in the headquarters.


DICT has achieved various milestones for the University.  The most recent is the successful development and deployment of e-Exams platform for the University.  Others are:

  • Installation of IP phones for all senior staff in the headquarters (HQ)
  • Deployment of LAN for HQ 
  • Development and deployment of new website for the University



  1. ONWODI Gregory (Dr.) -                                 Director
  2. BUNZA Rabiatu M.                                            Deputy Director
  3. AMADASUN Osamutimen                               Chief Web Developer
  4. IKECHUKWU Odogwu                                    Chief Hardware Engineer
  5. EGENTI Grace Ebere                                      Chief Web Developer
  6. OWORU Gbenga G.                                        Chief Hardware Engineer
  7. TAFA O. Henry                                                 Principal Technical Officer
  8. IWUANYANWU A. Uzoamaka                         Principal Hardware Engineer
  9. VAPPA T. Tijani                                                Senior Network Engineer
  10. STEPHEN Abraham                                        Senior System Analyst
  11. JAMO Aliyu Ahmad                                         System Analyst I
  12. OLULESHO O. Mabel                                     Database Administration I
  13. OLATUNJI Anne Olubunmi                             System Analyst I
  14. BASHIR Basheria                                           Database Administration I
  15. FOWODE A. Oluwatomilola                           System Analyst I
  16. TAHIR Muhammad Tijani                               Network Engineer II
  17. IBRAHIM Hadiza                                            Database Administration II
  18. DUNG Emmanuel Michael                             System Analyst I
  19. MOHAMMED Ibrahim                                    System Analyst II
  20. ABDULLAHI Makama Salmanu                     Network Engineer II
  21. OLUMIDE Funmilayo Omoyemi                    Network Administration II
  22. MURTALA Sani Muhammad                         System Analyst II
  23. BABA AJI Mamman Muhammad                  System Analyst II
  24. LAWAL Ibrahim Yusuf                                   Database Administration II
  25. OLUSEGUN A. Aremu                                  Hardware Engineer II
  26. ABOLARIN Omogbolade Mutiullah              Web Content Developer II
  27. AKINNIBOSUN Abayomi Victor                   System Analyst II
  28. ADEMUJIMI Olowofela                                Programmer II
  29. OYELAMI Oyewole Abiodun                        Database Administration II
  30. SEGUN Ogundairo Jackson                        System Analyst II
  31. OLUKAN Olubunmi Modupe                        System Analyst II
  32. AKINBOWALE Olawande                            System Analyst II
  33. AKINYELURE Ayodele Olanrewaju             System Analyst II
  34. OLADEJI Temiloluwa Oluwadara                 Hardware Engineer II
  35. ANUM Absalom                                           System Analyst II

                                                  Administrative Staff

  1. AUDU Kolo Isaiah                                        Senior Assistant Registrar
  2. UGWU Gladys Ebere                                   Principal Confidential Secretary
  3. ELEAZU Agnes Ginikachi                            Clerical Officer
  4. SHUT Gwom Mary                                       Environmentalist
  5. ZUBAIRU Yau Haruna                                 Environmentalist


Type (Directorate or Unit)
Directorate/Unit Name
Directorate of Information & Communications Technology (DICT)
Dr. Gregory O. Onwodi

How to Find Us

                    NOUN New Logo

National Open University of Nigeria
University Village
Plot 91, Cadastral Zone
Nnamdi Azikiwe Expressway
Jabi, Abuja 

Contact the Abuja Head Quarters between 8am and 4pm on any of the following numbers:
08079917938, 07064701747, 09082907092

Contact the Lagos Office between 8am and 4pm on any of the following numbers: 09056463036, 08038514090

Visit a Study Centre.

© 2021 National Open University of Nigeria. All rights reserved.